EDIMS (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion in Music Studies) is a cross-organisational network which aims to promote, support and share good practice in relation to EDI in Music Higher Education in the UK. The Network has grown out of the EDI Working Group established by MusicHE and the Royal Musical Association in early 2019.


The Network is affiliated to a number of music organisations (listed below) and supports and promotes work seeking to redress historical exclusion and under-representation in relation to a range of areas in Music HE, including but not limited to class, disability, ethnicity, gender, neurodiversity and sexuality. We hope that raising awareness and facilitating change will lead to a re-envisioning and fostering of educational and research environments that are welcoming to all and in which everyone feels enfranchised. This includes listening to voices that have been historically excluded as a result of structural inequalities. We believe that music should be a means of celebrating human diversity, and understanding ourselves from multiple perspectives in ways that are fundamentally enriching.


We recognise that this is long-term work, and is not confined to one group but takes place alongside other initiatives, including national projects such as Athena Swan and the Race Equality Charter. We seek to offer a subject-specific space for discussion, reflection and action as a way of moving towards longer-term structural changes to address inequality and under-representation. As a fledgling Network, we recognise also that we need to listen and learn, and be adaptable to changing and emerging needs in our community.



Genevieve Arkle (Lead on Social Media)

Diljeet Bhachu

Amy Blier-Carruthers (Lead on Industry Liaison)

Anna Bull (Lead on Research Report)

Rachel Cowgill (LGBTQ+ Study Group representative and Lead on Publications and Resource Development)

Will Finch (Early Career Researcher representative)

Anne Hyland (Society for Music Analysis representative)

Freya Jarman (Lead on Website)

Gabrielle Messeder (Secretary)

Helen Julia Minors, co-Chair (MusicHE representative and Lead on Events)

Laudan Nooshin, co-Chair (Royal Musical Association representative)

Gascia Ouzanian (Lead on Liaison with Local EDI Groups)

Tom Perchard (IASPM-UKI representative)

Fiorella Montero Diaz (British Forum for Ethnomusicology representative)

Mary Stakelum (SEMPRE representative and Lead on Feeder Routes in Music HE)

Shzr Ee Tan (BFE representative and Lead on Career Development Support) 

Chamari Wedamulla (PGR representative and Lead on Students and ECRs Working Group)



© 2020 by EDIMS. Logo by Will Finch. Proudly created with Wix.comTerms of Use  |   Privacy Policy